NDAHistory of the Nepalese Doctors’ Association: Annual General Meetings since establishment –  

The first ever get together of families of Nepalese doctors in the UK was in Chesterfield in 1984. There was a good turnout, although the event was just for one night. It was clear that there was enough support to plan further meetings. The second meeting was held in London 1985. The first formal assembly of the executive committee was in 1986. Subsequent meetings are detailed in Table 1. As more and more doctors became aware of the NDA, membership increased and now exceeds 100. Over the years, the annual general meeting (AGM) became a 3 day event due to popular demand. We all remember the entertaining cultural programmes of Friday night! The scientific session also became a regular addition to the timetable, with fantastic talks from external speakers highly regarded in their field. In recent times, the scientific session has been a platform for presentation of original audits and research from Nepalese doctors including those in training.  For many the highlight was the gala dinner on Saturday. The attendance for this event was over 200 in some cases. The atmosphere at the AGM’s has always been relaxed with much emphasis on the social aspects. For some the AGM was the only opportunity to catch up on the events of the year. The NDA celebrated its 25th anniversary due to the very loyal support of members and their families over the years. I am sure the future of the NDA is secure, and would like to encourage particularly trainees to take an active role.


Details of annual general meetings of the NDA (UK).

Year Venue Chairperson
1986 Durham University Dr Prem B Hamal
1987 Birmingham University Dr Prem B Hamal
1988 Manchester University Dr Tej L Shrestha
1989 Heriott Watt University Edinburgh Dr Tej L Shrestha
1990 Thames Polytechnic London Dr Narayan R Joshi
1991 Eaton Hall International Notts Dr Narayan R Joshi
1992 Sunderland University Dr Prasanna Gautam
1993 Loughborough University Dr Prasanna Gautam
1994 Salford University Manchester Dr Basant Shrestha
1995 Ranmoor Hall Sheffield University Dr Basant Shrestha
1996 Heriott Watt University Edinburgh Late Dr Ramji Gautam
1997 Aston University Birmingham Late Dr Ramji Gautam
1998 Greenwich University London Dr Chuda B Karki
1999 Cardiff University Dr Chuda B Karki
2000 University of Surrey Guildford Dr Achyut Dhital
2001 Loughborough University Dr Achyut Dhital
2002 Holiday Inn Birmingham Dr Bhaskar Sharma
2003 Durham University Dr Bhaskar Sharma
2004 Durham University Dr Keshar Lal Shrestha
2005 Lancaster University Dr Keshar Lal Shrestha
2006 Hotel Ramada Watford Dr Madan Sharma
2007 Hotel Hilton Aberdeen Dr Madan Sharma
2008 Holiday Inn Rotherham Sheffield Dr Prasanna Gautam
2009 Hilton Cobham Surrey Dr Prasanna Gautam
2010 Marriott Hotel Leicester Dr Phauda Thebe
2011 Future Inns Plymouth Dr Phauda Thebe
2012 Marriott Hotel Metrocentre Gateshead Dr Bharat Shrestha
2013 Quality Hotel Birmingham Dr Bharat Shrestha
2014 Hilton Hotel Watford Dr Arun Jha
2015 Hilton Hotel Dr Arun Jha
2016 Newcastle upon Tyne Dr Beena Subba 2017 Bedford Dr. Beena Subba